Tiny Dresses and Bees

Dexter and I had a lovely evening at the park today. He was thrilled to find the entire area swarming with bumblebees. It was actually quite relaxing to watch them go about their buzzy business.

My mind has been preoccupied with lots of different types of bees lately… Particularly quilting bees.

I never manage to catch the beginning of a quilting bee, I just see blocks showing up on blogs I follow. So I’m toying with the idea of starting my own, although I honestly don’t know if I could come up with 12 interested quilters.

*If* I do this, these are the things I’m mulling over:

I’d definitely want it to be continental US only, because of shipping. During my research I saw some people say that there are 2 ways of doing things. You can either mail out fabric so you can control what goes into your quilt, or you can agree to use your own stash to create blocks for each quilt. The first option will be pricier. I am open to suggestions on that point.

I’ll also judge by interest whether to do a year long bee or a 6 month bee.

And I will be thinking about how many blocks each person should make, depending on the number of people interested and the agreement of quilt size and block number and size. (A typical bee consists of 12 members, 12 months, 1 block per person per month.)

So leave a comment if you’re interested in something like this. I will continue to update the status of the potential quilting bee when I have more info!

And for my followers who may not know about virtual quilting bees and really just keep up with my blog because you love me, tell me if you want more info. I didn’t go into what a quilting be really is because it’s getting late and I still want to watch TV with Alex :).

Finally, I made some dresses for my sister’s baby (Full disclosure, I may be more excited about this baby than any other baby besides my own. I LOVE the dickens out of all my nephews. But I’m really REALLY excited about this little girl person!) and I wanted to give a heads up that I will be putting out a tutorial and pattern for them very soon!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Tiny Dresses and Bees

    • Thanks! They were pretty easy. One day I hope to post the patterns I drafted, but I have been having one computer crisis after another and can’t even get my computer to turn on 😦

  1. I love the dresses! I would love it if you’d make them into a pattern and tutorial. I would definitely make them.

    • Thanks!! I do actually have a physical pattern made up, but I just haven’t taken the time to turn it into a PDF. But I will do that very soon! I just remembered the other day that I have yet to do this! I’m the worst about remembering to follow up on my pattern promises 🙂

  2. Did you ever decide about if you wanted to do your virtual quilting bee? Let me know what you decided. I meant to ask a long time ago, but just kept forgetting.

Leave a Reply

