Postage Stamp Quilt-Along Update

I’m a little behind on my post this week. I was stressed out about it because I thought I’d solved all my technology problems from the past few weeks. I was wrong. I think technology hates my blog. I was so mad the other day that I almost swore off blogging. But my husband helped put things into perspective: “No one is wailing and smashing their computer because you haven’t posted in time. They’ll see it when they see it.” Oh, Alex, you keep me grounded in reality. My response was, “Well, they *should* be.”
But, I’m still here, and (dare I say it??) think most of my tech problems are solved.

I’m excited to say I have already completed my February Postage Stamp Challenge! I solemnly vowed to sew all of quadrant 1 into sets of 4.

Sewing is done.

And ironing is done.

It was pretty awesome to iron these out. I started getting a feel for how things are going to look!

There were some sad ones. Several are like the one below, where the seams just don’t quite match. I didn’t have any tragically off-kilter ones, but I’m a little concerned about how it might throw things off. Of course, I’m worrying too much about it..

And I found a fabric I sewed on backwards. It’s the orange in the upper right. I *almost* took it apart to flip it, but I realized that it just doesnt matter and that I may like the backside better anyway.
And then there’s this bad boy… He’s more than a little snaggle-toothed. I am going to see if this block can be salvaged, but I suspect I will have to take it apart and maybe replace a couple of the squares. It might be for the best, all those lines going in different directions make me a little nauseated and anxious lol.

But overall, I was really pleased with how they look. I definitely have some favorites! The one below just makes me really happy for some reason.

A few produced some color combos I’d never really considered. In the future, I may look to these for inspiration:

I really liked this one with the frog.

I definitely have a weakness for aqua, red, and black together. All my favorite blocks turned out to contain green/aqua, red/orange, and black and white!

Now I’m going through and squaring up all my blocks. Does using a rotary cutter make everyone’s elbows burn, or am I doing something wrong??

Bring on March’s challenge, Mary!! I’m ready!

 

4 thoughts on “Postage Stamp Quilt-Along Update

  1. YOu are doing great with the squares..Just always keep a sharp blade in your cutter..This made all the difference for me when cutting..If your blade is dull, it causes you stress in you hands, wrist and elbows with time..Its so not worth the pain..Plus a new blade slide right thru the material.

  2. Wow, I’m impressed. I too am doing the postage stamp quilt, but have yet to start sewing. Right now, I am in the mood to collect (another term for buy) fabric to add to my collection and stash for the next upcoming swap. Thanks for sharing your pics. Maybe I will get motivated to start sewing too.

    • Jen, I had to do the exact same thing lol. I felt really bad because I ended up having to cut several squares from a single piece, and just try to make them look different. I was certain that my swappers would be annoyed, but a few of them told me it didn’t matter a bit to them! So that was nice 🙂 But now that I’ve finished my challenge I need to get back to cutting!

Leave a Reply

