Postage Stamp Quilt (Am I Crazy???)

IMG_8077 

I’ve always wanted to do a block quilt, possibly out of 4” squares… sometime in the distant future, because that would take forever, right??

But then I saw this beautiful postage stamp quilt over at The Curious Quilter, made of 2” squares, and I felt I must rise to the challenge.

I told the creator (borrowing from her comments section):

“one of my favorite parts of the process is dreaming up my new creation. i do enjoy piecing (by machine) but i don’t enjoy the technical planning stage (figuring out how much fabric i need and how big everything needs to be), it just seems like it takes all the fun out of it. i just want to create!!!”

And she replied with this great advice for getting started:

“Thank you! Actually this is a great project for you then. Every time you make something, cut yourself a few two inch squares. When you have a pile, start sewing them into squares of 64 each, for a 12.5 inch block. You can assemble blocks using the Classic Squares Tutorial, but with two inch squares instead of ten inch ones. Over time, you will build a healthy pile of blocks!”

So I recently got started! I cut up tons of scraps into two inch squares while I was watching tv. (Got to love a simple, mindless task!) After a while I thought maybe I had enough for about half a quilt. I counted my squares… 420.

I checked Mary’s blog again to see how many squares I’d need. And I realized I didn’t pay enough attention before. That beautiful quilt is made up of 4096 pieces!!!!

At least I’ve made a dent 🙂

Anyone up for a quilt-along? If so, hop on over to The Curious Quilter and check out her postage stamp quilts. She calls them “Big Hugs”, and really, after that much work, that is exactly what they are! And the quilts can be very personal, made up of favorite fabrics or bits of old, well-loved clothing.

She also has great storage tips for all those teensy squares.  Don’t do what I’m doing… you can see mine are all thrown into a box and that I didn’t even iron the fabric before I cut it.

3 thoughts on “Postage Stamp Quilt (Am I Crazy???)

  1. I LOVE this idea, and no, you are not crazy about it. I made one of those quilts a few years ago and it was one of the most rewarding processes ever. I still have it, and if we ever have a girl, I’ll give it to her for her dolls. 🙂 I’ll find it and take a picture one of these days.

  2. I am so glad you are starting on this quest, it is big, but not difficult! I have four of them under my belt, and have counted out boxes for another six (THAT may be nuts!) But seriously, they are very forgiving quilts. If your corners do not match perfectly, it barely shows, and the more random the color placement, the more fun.

    Watch for a post on the topic again soon, as I have a few readers starting down this trail. I hope you will share your progress!

    Have FUN! –
    – Mary, The Curious Quilter

  3. Pingback: Postage Stamp Quilts; Playing with Color | The Curious Quilter

Leave a Reply

