Still Here: Unpacking and Stocking Up On Patterns

I wanted to drop a line to let you guys know I’m still alive 🙂 We’re still in the moving process. The never-ending unpacking stage. I can’t find my card reader to upload pix, which is a real bummer.

In the meantime, I’ve been stocking up on patterns from Hobby Lobby. Last week Simplicity patterns were 99 cents. This week it’s McCall’s.

I bought this pattern (2599) because of this post on All Buttoned Up. I’m very excited to try it, because it looks very versatile.

I picked this pattern (2363) because it’s super cute, aaaaaaaaand… it’s a pull-over! I love the idea of not having to bother with zippers and buttons 🙂 I wanted these 2: (http://www.simplicity.com/p-5005-misses-dresses.aspx and http://www.simplicity.com/p-5376-misses-miss-petite-dress-or-tunic.aspx) but they had side zippers! I really want to make comfortable clothes, and I’m just not sure a side zipper fits into that plan. I probably would have tried it if it were a back zipper, because those dresses are precious!

I’ve been searching for a promising jeans pattern. When I saw this one (M 5142), I decided to go for it, because the description said “slightly low-rise” and they looked fairly modern. Well, one of the styles did. Oddly enough, this pattern offers both cute jeans and ultra-high waist mom jeans… Oh, and I won’t be adding the goofy embellishments 🙂

I’ve also been looking for a very basic and easy A-line dress. This 1 hour dress (M 6102) looks exactly like what I had in mind.

Then I stumbled across this dress (M 6109) and thought it had potential for both myself and my sister. It’s a little different from other jersey knit dresses I’ve seen, so I’m excited to try it!

And lastly, I’ve been very tempted to get a coat pattern. I’ve tried similar styles on at Target, and I really this I’ll like this pattern (M 5714). I’m hoping I’ll have the time and courage to try this sometime in the fall! I love that this pattern has so many options. I think I’ll try view D, minus any animal print 🙂

Now, the real challenge is cutting out the pattern pieces. I HATE doing that. And Dexter makes it even harder. He gets very excited by the crinkly paper 🙂 I’ll have to get into the habit doing it after he goes to bed.

Hopefully my next post won’t be so far away and will include pictures, hopefully of awesome things I’ve made!

2 thoughts on “Still Here: Unpacking and Stocking Up On Patterns

Leave a Reply

