Sneak Peek: Denim Picnic Quilt

0525002322 
As I sorted through my old stash recently, I found some old jeans I was converting to skirts. It occurred to me that I’m never actually going to make those skirts (they’ve been sitting, pinned together, for around 4 years) so I decided to use the denim for a picnic quilt.

I used a seam ripper to take apart pretty much every stitch in 3 pairs of jeans and a mini skirt I’d been saving for a purse. It was worth it. Every fold yielded surprising tonal variations. This is what I have so far, roughly a 12”x18” block. I’m considering adding other fabric to make it bigger without having to tear apart more clothes, but I really don’t want to take away from the patterns and tones that are emerging. We’ll see!

One thought on “Sneak Peek: Denim Picnic Quilt

  1. I just wanted you to know that I love your blog so much I featured it in a top 15 on my own blog! Your quilts are so adorable you are just so creative! Love your blog girlie!

    Happy Blogging to ya =)

Leave a Reply

