Sock Monsters!

sock monster 1 downsized_0823091431

In my hunt for crocheted toy patterns I stumbled across sock monsters. I decided to give it a try, and well… it was extremely fun 🙂 There’s no pattern required, so the possibilities are endless, and you really can’t mess it up! So expect to see a whole slew of sock and glove toys in the future.

My sock monster looks more like a donkey-rabbit than a monster. This one is so cute, but I’ll probably still try to make the next one look more like a fun monster. The ones I’d seen online all had ears (they’re supposed to be horns) but I think I’ll try my next one without them.

I also chose not to use any buttons, only embroidery, so it would be baby-safe. And it paid off, Dexter loved him! In fact, I forgot to take any pictures before he got ahold of him, so the picture above features Dexter slobber 🙂

dexter-and-sock-monster-2-I 

 dexter-and-sock-monster-IMG

And I believe Mr. Sock Monster is going to be quite resilient. Dexter gave him a good going-over.

The sites that inspired me:

http://sockmonsters.woolywarrior.co.uk/page.php?2

http://6ichthusfish.typepad.com/6ichthusfish/crochet/

2 thoughts on “Sock Monsters!

Leave a Reply

